Dirección General de Políticas de Desarrollo Turístico

"Decenio de la Igualdad de Oportunidades para Mujeres y Hombres"

"Año del Bicentenario del Perú: 200 Años de Independencia"

### **AYUDA MEMORIA**

## Tourist Destinations of Peru adhered to the Safe Travels Stamp

The Ministry of Foreign Trade and Tourism (MINCETUR) has been promoting the recognition of safe tourist destinations through the international Safe Travels Stamp, as a measure for the reactivation of the Tourism Sector and the sanitary sustainability for tourist destinations.

The international Safe Travels Stamp is a recognition granted by the World Travel and Tourism Council (WTTC) as a result of the implementation of a set of protocols designed under the guidelines of the World Health Organization (WHO), whose objective is to achieve that the tourist destinations are recognized as safe and of quality, nationally and internationally, as well as to recognize tourism service providers who have been implementing health standards and protocols that guarantee the safety of travelers as each country or region joins the "New normal".

This stamp provides our country with a coherent global approach as a travel and tourism industry, aligned with the biosanitary requirements of protocols in the international tourism sector, so that safe travel can be enjoyed as restrictions are eased; which drives the recovery of the confidence of foreign tourists to Peru, given that our destinations are internationally recognized as safe.

## How to apply:

For a Destination to apply for the Safe Travels Stamp, it must comply with the "Health Guidelines for COVID-19 for Safe Destination", which establishes the preventive health measures that public and private actors in charge of managing and providing tourism services in tourist destinations, as well as sector protocols, in order to reduce the risks of transmission and spread of COVID-19.

In the case of **Tourism Service Providers**, they must comply with the implementation of sector protocols and present their surveillance, prevention and control plans for Covid-19 at work; likewise, they must comply with the following:

- Accommodations and travel agencies must be registered with MINCETUR or regional and local governments.
- Official Tourism Guides must have a valid license and be registered with the competent authority.
- Restaurants must be categorized and Operating License issued by the municipality.
- Tourist transport companies, supervised by the competent authority.
- Thermal Tourism centers, supervised by the competent authority.
- The Games of Casinos and Slot Machines, supervised by the competent authority.
- The organizing companies of congresses, conventions and events, supervised by the competent authority.

"Decenio de la Igualdad de Oportunidades para Mujeres y Hombres"

"Año del Bicentenario del Perú: 200 Años de Independencia"

#### Safe Travels destinations:

As of July 2021, Peru has 43 tourist destinations recognized with the international stamp "Safe Travels", recognition granted by the World Travel and Tourism Council under the guidelines of the World Health Organization (WHO).

- 1) Machupicchu (Cusco)
- 2) Cusco City (Cusco)
- 3) Sacred Valley (Cusco)
- 4) Miraflores (Lima)
- 5) Ayacucho (Ayacucho)
- 6) Alto Mayo (San Martín)
- 7) Tarapoto (San Martín)
- 8) Abiseo (San Martín)
- 9) North Beach Piura (Piura)
- 10) North Beach Tumbes (Tumbes)
- 11) Iquitos Amazonas River Pacaya Samiria (Loreto)
- 12) Huánuco (Huánuco)
- 13) Tingo María (Huánuco)
- 14) Moche (La Libertad)
- 15) Huanchaco (La Libertad)
- 16) Cascas (La Libertad)
- 17) Morin Port (La Libertad)
- 18) Malabrigo Port (La Libertad)
- 19) Magdalena de Cao (La Libertad)
- 20) Pacasmayo (La Libertad)
- 21) Trujillo (La Libertad)
- 22) Kuélap (Amazonas)
- 23) Gocta (Amazonas)
- 24) Chachapoyas Huancas (Amazonas)
- 25) Arequipa City (Arequipa)
- 26) Colca Valley and Canyon (Arequipa)
- 27) Cajamarca (Cajamarca)
- 28) Oxapampa (Pasco)
- 29) Selva Central (Junín)
- 30) Paracas (Ica)
- 31) Ica (Ica)
- 32) Nasca (Ica)
- 33) Lambayeque (Lambayeque)
- 34) Caral Barranca (Lima)
- 35) Tacna, Viejo-Miculla Valley (Tacna)
- 36) Moquegua, Piscos and Sweets Capital (Moquegua)
- 37) Puno Titicaca Lake (Puno)
- 38) Tambopata (Madre de Dios)

# Viceministerio de Turismo

Dirección General de Políticas de Desarrollo Turístico

"Decenio de la Igualdad de Oportunidades para Mujeres y Hombres" "Año del Bicentenario del Perú: 200 Años de Independencia"

- 39) Manu (Madre de Dios)
- 40) Cordillera Blanca (Ancash)
- 41) South Conchucos (Ancash)
- 42) Callao (Callao)
- 43) Huancavelica (Huancavelica)

For more information and inquiries, contact: <a href="mailto:safetravels@mincetur.gob.pe">safetravels@mincetur.gob.pe</a>